This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Chakra Balancing: How to Tell if You Have Imbalanced Chakras or Balanced Chakras

imbalanced chakras

Hopefully, by now, you have a basic idea of what the seven chakras are. As a quick recap, in Sanskrit, the word “chakra” translates into “wheel” or “circle.” Each of us has seven main chakras that run from the base of our spines to the crown of our heads. Think of them as your energy centers that are ideally always spinning (in beautiful rainbow colors might I add).

If you have balanced chakras, you’re better prepared to live your best life, and manifest your wildest desires. This chakra balancing article will help you identify if you have imbalanced chakras or balanced chakras (meaning they are either overactive or under-active). If this feels a little “out there,” bear with me.

For years I was looking for answers I couldn’t find, repeated old habits, and didn’t understand why certain things would happen to me. Over time, I began to learn that I couldn’t control what was - literally - “out there” but could only control what was happening in me. Once I discovered this fact of the universe, I turned my focus inward and slowly watch my outward world change as a result. All of this comes down to energy and chakra balancing, but first, you have to know if you’re experiencing imbalanced chakras or balanced chakras.

1. Root Chakra Balancing - Muladhara

Imbalanced Root Chakra

You feel ungrounded, unconfident, lonely, insecure, anxious, or abandoned. If you are feeling particularly stuck, then your root chakra may be the cause.

Balanced Root Chakra

You feel stable, grounded, safe, or connected to the Earth. If you are confident about your roots, then your chakra is in great shape.

2. Sacral Chakra Balancing - Svadishthana

Imbalanced Sacral Chakra

You struggle to be sexually and emotionally intimate or have a conflicted self-image. If unable to enjoy the simple pleasures of life, then take a good look at your sacral chakra.

Balanced Sacral Chakra

You feel sexually alive, creatively inspired, and are empowered to enjoy life’s pleasures freely. If you have a strong sense of your intimate self, then this chakra is doing its job.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra Balancing - Manipura

Imbalanced Solar Plexus Chakra

You feel imposter syndrome, have low self-esteem or feel powerless. If you find it difficult to follow your dreams because of a lack of personal power, then this chakra may be underactive.

Balanced Solar Plexus Chakra

you are confident, feel like your dreams are reachable and are driven to achieve them. If you have a sense of how you can leverage your bright power, then you’re solar plexus is spinning correctly.

4. Heart Chakra Balancing- Anahata

Imbalanced Heart Chakra

You fear commitment, feel the need to be guarded, or have trouble giving and receiving love. If you’ve been hurt often and distrust easily, then your heart chakra likely needs some compassionate work.

Balanced Heart Chakra

You are kind to yourself, appreciate others with ease, and are naturally grateful for all the wonders of the world. If you’re comfortable in relationships, then this chakra is the perfect shade of green.

5. Throat Chakra Balancing - Vishuddhi

Imbalanced Throat Chakra

You are afraid to speak up, say how you feel, or potentially become complicit. If you feel misunderstood or are having trouble listening, then your throat chakra likely needs some tending to.

Balanced Throat Chakra

You communicate confidently, clearly, and listen well. If you are comfortable speaking your truth for all the world to hear, then your throat chakra is doing just fine.

6. Third-Eye Chakra Balancing - Ajna

Imbalanced Third-Eye Chakra

you distrust your intuition, are disconnected from the meaning in your life and feel lost from your path. If your imagination and focus are lacking, then take a closer look at your third-eye chakra.

Balanced Third-Eye Chakra

you have full trust in your intuition, listen to your inner truth, and let both guide you. If you have a clear vision of your path (spiritual or not), then this chakra is operating properly.

7. Crown Chakra Balancing - Sahasrara

Imbalanced Crown Chakra

You have a shortage of faith, feel depressed, or unworthy of more in life. If you feel little connection to your higher self or even meaningless, then your crown chakra deserves some attention.

Balanced Crown Chakra

You accept universal love and know you deserve all the best the world has to offer. If you feel connected to something bigger than yourself, then your crown chakra is working just as it should.

For the third part of this chakra series, I’ll share spiritual tools you can use to addresses imbalanced chakras. Which of your chakras needs the most love? Because balanced chakras are everything.